Go to Content
  대통령기록관 홈페이지로 이동합니다
  • About PCIP
    • Background & Progress
    • Functions
    • Composition
    • Location
  • IP Framework Act
  • Strategic Plan for National Intellectual Property
  • Annual Action Plan

Presidential Councilon Intellectual Property English Brochure



  • Government members
    Government members, 13 including the Prime Minister as Co-Chairperson, are Minister of Strategy and Finance, Minister of Science, ICT and Future Planning, Minister of Education, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, Minister of Oceans and Fisheries, Minister of Trade, Industry and Energy, Minister of Health and Welfare, Director of National Intelligence Service, Minister of the Prime Minister's Office, Chairman of the Korea Fair Trade Commission, and Commissioner of the Korean Intellectual Property Office.
  • Civilian Members
    Civilian members, 19 including a Civilian expert as Co-
    Chairperson, are appointed by the President from among
    those who have considerable knowledge and experience in IP.

Constituent Committees

For efficient operation and professional review of the agenda of the Council, the Working-level Steering Committee, Expert Committees, and Special Expert Committees are established under the main Council.
  • (Working-level Steering Committee) Preliminary review of the meeting agenda of the Council; and Supporting
    the operation of the Council by, for example, coordinating ministerial disagreements.
    (Chairperson:Vice-Minister for Government Policy, Members:Director-Generals or equivalents of government
  • (Expert Committees) Expert preliminary review of the meeting agenda of the Council; and Agenda
    setting work for shaping major governmental policies for intellectual property. Expert Committees are
    composed of private experts.

    * Five Expert Committees are responsible for the creation, protection, utilization, infrastructure of IP, and emerging IP respectively. (Each committee is composed of 15 expert members)

  • (Special Expert Committees) Expert review of urgent and important pending issues. Special Expert
    Committees are formed for a set period of time.

    * As of 2012, two Special Expert Committees are in operation for advancement of dispute resolution system for IP rights and improvement of agreement for University-Industry research collaboration, respectively.

Office of IP Strategy and Planning

The Office of IP Strategy and Planning has been established to support the business of the Presidential Council on Intellectual Property. It provides the following services;

  • Support of the business of the Presidential Council on Intellectual Property
  • Preparation, review, consultation and coordination of the agenda items for the Council
  • Support, consultation and coordination for the formulation of the national intellectual property basic plan (strategic plan) and its action plans (executive plans)
  • Promotion and support of study and research on intellectual property
  • Public relations and external cooperation for the business of the Council
- Organizational Structure -
Organizational Structure more